Skip to content

wired incisors

October 11, 2007

This just across my desk: A Mr. Mike Williams has invented “Rock My Teeth”, a teeth whitening system which utilizes dissolving hydrogen peroxide strips. Over the strips is placed a custom mouthpiece which not only holds the strips in place but is wired with an ‘audio in’ jack for your ipod or other MP3 device (I kid you not. Check his website). According to Mr. Williams ‘you place the strips and mouthpiece, connect your ipod and turn it to full volume for maximum whitening’. While the science behind this breakthrough is yet to be fleshed out, Mr. Williams has given us assurance that it indeed does work (I must admit there are types of rap music which do set my teeth on edge—-perhaps I have been experiencing the ‘Williams effect’ without even knowing it). While it isn’t surprising to me that for a mere $50 Mr. Williams will give us the opportunity to experience his solution for stained bicuspids, it is a bit disconcerting that the initial run of 50,000 are already spoken for. Who are these 50,000 people? Didn’t their mothers ever tell them not to put electrical devices in their mouths?? What will their friends say as AC/DC is rebounding from their gingiva? My only conclusion is people can be suckers for anything that is new and appears ‘edgy’. Unfortunately this same appetite for edginess has infected the church. All across our land congregations fret over how to appeal to these spiritual thrill seekers. Terms are used like being ‘culturally relevant’ and generation ‘X’ sensitive. Tremendous amounts of effort are put forth to trigger interest when the answer lies just before us. For the life of me, I can’t think of anything edgier than the cross. That the King of Glory would voluntarily condescend from heaven and allow His life to be taken for the sake of His people. What could possibly be more unnormative? Paul had his finger on cultural relevance 2000 years ago when he said ‘…I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified’ (1Cor. 2:2). Mr Williams will have to keep his ‘Rock My Teeth’, I’ll not be ordering……………however, if he comes up with ‘Rock My Scalp’ to grow hair, I’m down with that.
Steve

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 8:15 am

    Here is a quote that my wife shared with me. I found it very convicting.”Our Bible Vs. Cellular Phone: By ~Anon.I wonder what would happen if we treated our Bible like we treat our cell phone?What if we carried it around in our purses or pockets?What if we flipped through it several time a day?What if we turned back to go get it if we forgot it?What if we used it to receive messages from the text?What if we treated it like we couldn’t live without it?What if we gave it to Kids as gifts?What if we used it when we traveled?What if we used it in case of emergency?This is something to make you go … hmm, where is my Bible?Oh, and one more thing. Unlike our cell phone, we don’t have to worry about our Bible being disconnected because Jesus already paid the bill.”

Leave a Reply

