Skip to content

Things of Real Importance. Spiders’ Webs.

September 9, 2008

I took a short walk to the park near our house during lunch today. So many things to do, yet breathing in the clean, fall air and feeling the cool, thick breeze around my neck was probably one of the most important things I did today. It called to mind this scene from the movie Amazing Grace, which I watched recently.

(Amazing Grace, scene 5, 19:30)

[The servant of William Wilberforce finds William lying in a dew-soaked field on a cool, autumn (I think) morning].

Wm: I’ve been acting a bit odd lately . . . It’s God. I have 10,000 engagements of state today, but I would prefer to spend the day out here getting a wet [rear end], studying dandelions, and marveling at bloody spiders’ webs.

Servant: You’ve found God, sir?

Wm: I think He found me.
Do you have any idea how inconvenient that is? How idiotic it will sound? I have a political career glittering ahead of me and in my heart I want spiders’ webs.

God’s creatures marveling at His creation, spiritually breathing in the knowledge and goodness and glory of Him? It might very well be the most important item on your schedule.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 11:59 pm

    Good post. Good movie. Extremely good God.

Leave a Reply

