Skip to content

Do "Open Doors" = God’s Road Signs?

April 6, 2010

So often, I hear Christians wanting to read “open doors” or “closed doors” as road signs. We want to make (or avoid making) decisions as kind of a divining rod–rather than through the proclamations and principles of Scripture + our Spirit-led thinking process.

We even pray (as Paul did) for “open doors”. But listen to what Paul says in 2 Cor 2:12, “When I came to Troas to preach the gospel of Christ, even though a door was opened for me in the Lord, my spirit was not at rest because I did not find my brother Titus there. So I took leave of them and went on to Macedonia.”

At the very least we must conclude, open doors are NOT God’s road signs . . . but they might be part of the equation!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

