Skip to content

Arcade Fire Album

February 16, 2011

I usually don’t post stuff like this, but I have a plug for a secular band called Arcade Fire. I saw a blurb about them in Time’s year in review issue and decided to listen to a couple songs. Besides being very catchy, they have some thoughtful lyrics which give some insight into at least one unbeliever’s perspective on the world. It gives me a little bit of the feeling I get reading Ecclesiastes at times; the unbeliever is sinking in a sea of meaninglessness, yet grasping for anything solid as everything around them slips away. Their latest album is titled The Suburbs, and has a lot of reflection on the modern suburban childhood (or, the lamentation of their lack thereof). The song “City With No Children In It” says in the chorus:

I feel like I’ve been living in
A city with no children in it
A garden left for ruin by a millionaire inside
Of a private prison

The verse goes on,

You never trust a millionaire
Quoting the sermon on the mount
I used to think I was not like them
But I’m beginning to have my doubts
My doubts about it

(Teaser: The lyrics take a thought-provoking twist at the end of the song.)

Now, I’ve been told (by my wife, for example) that my taste in music is a little “off” or “unique” at times. So be forewarned. Here’s the song:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

